Tags

,

Well, it seems that this collection actually debuted in the Summer of 2011 but for some reason, it just came out in my local supermarket… go figure.  There were eight polishes released in the Mermaids Cove Collection but I only picked up five colors, as the other ones didn’t really ‘speak’ to me.

I picked up some at my local supermarket for $1.99, which is the regular price of the Fast Dry line of polishes.  Can you still find these?  I am not entirely sure, but if you see the display, go take a closer look at the beautiful colors available.

Sea Witch is a red based purple with loads and loads of blue shimmer throughout the formula.  This causes it to be a dual toned purple.  Sometimes is looks more blue-purple, sometimes is looks magenta-purple.  If you look at the above bottle shot, you can see the two different tonalities… the difference in color between the the edges and rest of it.

I have did not have any issues with the brush in this bottle nor the formula.  On the swatches, I have used three coats on the nails and three coats on the nail wheel.  I could have gotten away with just using two coats on the nails themselves (opaque and no visible nail line – VNL) but I wanted a more blue-purple base.  If you use just two thin coats, then the magenta-purple will be more visible and will give you a sort of duochrome effect.  Though I absolutely love duochrome polishes, I actually prefered this to be more blurple… don’t you just love the word Blurple?  I do… Blurple, Blurple, Blurple… Sorry I could not contain myself. HeHeHe  The nail (hand) swatches I did have some bubbling but that was because I was doing it outside in 96 degree weather and I didn’t wait long enough between the coats. The bottle contains .46 fl oz / 13.5 ml and it is easy to open and comfortable to hold.

Here are the swatches…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hope these swatches have helped you decide whether or not you want to pick up Sea Witch. Sea Witch is my favorite of this collection (my next favorite is Sea of Dreams – both purples, go figure!).  This color absolutely just glows!  I was trying to get a picture in direct sunlight but although it was very hot and humid, the sun was hiding behind clouds for a while and then there was a sun shower which meant I went back inside.  If you love purples, you MUST get this.  I know that I’m glad I found this since it is a really beautiful color.  I was in France in the Summer of 2011 so I was fortunate to be able to pick these up now.

Toodles til next time…

