Tags

,

Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched – front outer packaging- you can see the microglitter in this pic

Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched – front outer packaging

 

Size/Quantity:  .44 oz / 12.4 g
Price: $10.48
Availability: I purchased mine at Wal-Mart, but it can be found at most national retailers

 

Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched – rear outer packaging – ingredients and directions

I have seen these new cream blushes in the beauty aisles of my local stores and wanted to know how they compare to other cream blushes that I own.  I love peachy shades so this is the first one that I picked up… The other shades available at a hot pink and a coral.

This cream blush by Revlon has the typical Revlon chemical scent.  Unlike other Revlon products (foundations, I’m talking to you!), you have to really stick your nose into the package though to smell it.

Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched

It is stiffer to the touch than other cream blushes (ie. MAC, NYX).  It goes on like silk due to the abundance of silicones.  It applies in a thin non-sticky layer.  Dimethicone is the number one ingredient in this blush so if you are silicone sensitive, run, do not walk from this blush.

I like the no-nonsense, easy to open packaging.  I prefer this type over pretty girly packaging any day.  The round plastic jar is sleek, utilitarian and is lightweight.  I do wish that there was a label on the top (or bottom) that also listed the ingredients and size?quantity.  The current sticker on the top only has the product name on it.  On the bottom of the jar, there is nothing… no info or sticker at all which I find quite odd.

Company Claims:

According to the Revlon website… Revlon Photoready Cream Blush

The Reality:

This is very sheer on my medium skin and doesn’t last long on my cheeks.  An hour later and I don’t see it at all.  I took a picture for you with a swatch on the underside of my left arm which is much lighter than my skin elsewhere (underside of arm NC25, elsewhere NC35-37).  I did the first swatch in one layer in different lighting and then one more swatch with 4 layers to see how much I need for it to show up.  Here are the 4 pictures.

Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched – one application the underside of my left art – around an NC25

Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched – one application the underside of my left art – around an NC25

Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched – 4 applications (layers) the underside of my left art – around an NC25

Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched – 4 applications (layers) the underside of my left art – around an NC25

This Pinched color of the Revlon Photoready Cream Blush reminds me a lot of the “blushed” side of the e.l.f.  Studio Contouring Blush and Bronzing Powder Duo.  This is appropriate for all skin types unless you are silicone-sensitive.  This blush is best applied with your fingers or a medium density stippling brush (I use the Bare Minerals Feather Light brush).  Using a brush I found gives a more pigmented application in one try but then again, you will be transferring more of that microglitter onto your face.  That means that when the color fades, you are left with the glitter… not exactly a good look.

I would recommend this color to those with fair to light skin tones who want a cream version of the blush color in the e.l.f. Studio Contouring Blush and Bronzing Powder Duo.  To increase the wear time of both blushes, you can layer the powder of the cream blush.   It is a peach color that leans slightly rose-gold with gold micro-shimmer.  If you are NC 35 or darker and/or don’t like shimmer, go ahead and skip this shade.

Revlon Photoready Cream Blush in Pinched – as you can see, it has microglitter

I would have liked this color if it remained on the skin for at least 5 hours and was more pigmented without having to apply several layers.  Also, the absence of shimmer would be really nice (hint, hint).

PROS:

  • Applies smooth and like silk
  • You get a lot of product for the price (MAC 5.6g=$20, Revlon 12.4g=~$10.48 ~)
  • You can build up the color

CONS:

  • Very sheer
  • Fades quickly and leaves behind shimmer once it fades
  • Very high in silicones (Dimethicone is the first ingredient)

I would not recommend this color but I may try out the Coral to see how that goes.  This just wasn’t for me because the color was too light/sheer to show up on my cheeks without building it up a lot, faded quickly and has shimmer.

I hope this helped you in some way… Toodles til next time!

