WARNING:

THIS POST CONTAINS PICTURES OF ME WITH NO MAKEUP ON… CONSIDER YOURSELF WARNED… IT IS NOT PRETTY…

Like many people I have uneven skin tone and dark acne scarring.  I also break out and get scarring from when I epilate my jaw/neck.  The bright red spots you will see in the pictures below are two that I just got from epilating that area a few days ago.  You will also notice that I have quite a few spots and scars in my neck area because of this issue.  Unfortunately, I already went to the dermatologist and so far, not remedy to stop me from breaking out from removing the hair that, well, women as a whole don’t have any need for.  But I digress.  I really wanted to make my skin as a whole look better so the foundation would be an option and not a necessity.  So, I went to the Clinique counter and they recommended this.  Pricey? Yes.  But darn it, if it works, sign me up.  Now remember, I also have oily combination skin so I need to make sure that it is not going to make my skin oilier and will not counteract the oil controling products that I use… I don’t want to look like a frying pan.

This is what the Clinique USA website says:

Dermatologist-developed to be safe, comfortable. Yet in clinical trials our serum was comparable to a leading prescription ingredient in creating a more even skin tone-a verified 53% improvement. For all skin tones: See results starting in just 4 weeks. At 12 weeks, see a visible reduction in dark spots, age spots, traces of acne past. Works on backs of hands and chest, too.

How to use:

Apply all over face twice a day after 3-Step Skin Care, avoiding eye area. Can also be used on hands and chest. Never forget the sunscreen. And results are guaranteed.

It comes in 1 oz/30 ml and 1.7 oz/50 ml sizes.  $49.50 and $73.00 respectively USD.  I have the 1 oz/30 ml size.

What I say:

My skin is not spotted as bad as the egg for illustration purpuses but I do have spots.  I use 2 pumps all over my face twice a day.  They say to use it after the 3 step system (cleanse, exfoliate, moisturize) but I ALWAYS use a serum under moisturizer.  Why you ask?  Serums are finer and to get the best concentration and benefit to your skin, you need to make sure that it is completely absorbed by your skin.  Moisturizer plumps up your skin and ‘fills’ it in so the serum is not being absorbed into your skin as well as it should be.  The color is kind of a milky color and as most serums do, it has a ‘slip’ to it if you know what I mean.  I massage one pump at a time into my skin because sometimes I may need less than 2 pumps, sometimes more and I don’t want to waste product especially at this price.  Make sure that you work it well into your jaw line and neck because it will lighten your skin a bit and you don’t want a mask effect.  After I massage it into my skin, I let it completely sink in taking about 10 minutes before I put anything else on my face.  If you feel like you still have some ‘slip’ to your skin, either you used WAY too much, did’t massage it enough, or just need a lil more time to absorb.  I find that this can also work as a good foundation primer if your foundation has SPF in it and you don’t use a separate moisturizer.

 

Once it feels like it is completely absorbed, I continue with my face and makeup routine.  Here comes the un-pretty part…

 

Follow me on this long journey and see for yourself if this actually works…  I really hope it does…  I will be updating picture periodically to show the differences along those weeks.

Toodles…

